Year: 2015

Rémi Berchet

Rémi Berchet, concerto for freerider

Share

Far from here, many years ago, my high school music teacher had a tatty ponytail (although I have nothing against ponytails), a pale face (nor against pale faces, I might add) and obsessive doggedness about perfect rhythm on the recorder (but here, I draw the line…). But that was far away… and a long time ago. In short, a far cry from what the high school pupils in Bourg Saint Maurice (Savoie) see when their music teacher, Rémi Berchet, enters the classroom. Rémi is a solo mountaineer, who lives for his passions: skiing in winter, running in summer. Last August, Rémi was on the starting line of the magnificent TDS (Traces des Ducs de Savoie) race, which covers 119km of GR hike paths in the Mont Blanc region. This year, he completed the 7,250m positive height gain in just 15 hours, 13 minutes and 40 seconds, finishing just outside the top three! But now that winter is here again, Rémi can rest his feet in his ski boots, before, without a doubt, climbing the last few …

Share
Scotland by Zeppelin

Hebrides Express – by Jeanne T. & MPQ.

Share

Five days. That’s all we have. For a round-trip visit to the Isle of Mull that’s more than enough. Eight years ago, along with a friend we completed our first visit to Scotland on these same roads, in a van. The reasons for hitting these same roads this year are plentiful and fun! A report with the photographers from the Zeppelin travelogue, and most importantly to celebrate the 10th anniversary of discovering a little corner of paradise in Scotland. Back on these one-track roads 10 years later, it’s Jeanne’s turn to describe her trip in words and pictures. MPQ. We skipped the Fireman’s Ball for a fantastic voyage across England and Scotland. Paris-Calais-Dover- Liverpool- Corran- Lochaline – Isle of Mull. MPQ. picks up the Esquisse (the van kitted out by We Van) in Nantes and meets me in Paris. To burn off some energy in anticipation of the 20-hour drive we have in store, we head to a concert by the folk group June Bug at a music shop in the Barbès neighbourhood. M. has put us …

Share
Race

Taking it easy in a deckchair

Share

The deckchair is a piece of historic social heritage. Thanks are due to Léon B. and his party the Front P. which, in 1936, were thoughtful enough to introduce paid holidays and, at the same time, the deckchair trend. Beaches were filled with a vast sea of brightly coloured canvas stretched over reclining wood frames, replacing the rattan chairs of yesteryear. Besides being part of our social heritage, the deckchair is also an apocope in France. The French term for deckchair, “transat”, is in fact a phonetic modification of “transatlantique”, as these chairs were first used on the liners that crossed the Atlantic. Make no mistake, that is what it’s all about: the solo Atlantic crossing by Armand de Jacquelot in Mini 6,50, the world’s smallest offshore racing yacht. And the vast expanse of stretched canvas becomes a large blue spinnaker. Abracadabra. Armand, skipper of n°755 We-Van, was present on Saturday 19 September 2015 at the start of the famous Minitransat race from Douarnenez to Pointe- à-Pitre. He started designing boats as a boy and …

Share
We-Van by Kampes Nomads

Life in a campervan : destination surf – by Kampes Nomads

Share

We tested a campervan from We-Van to explore the famous surfing spots in the Basque region of southwestern France. The model we chose was the “Esquisse” a two-seater van built on a Volkswagen chassis, for a road trip combining moderation, efficiency and comfort. Hiring this campervan for our Surf Trip was clearly the best option. When surfing is part of your daily life, your priorities involve monitoring the weather forecast and “hunting” waves. The best way to do this is on wheels, heading directly to each destination, which sometimes means covering a significant distance before finding the perfect spot. The advantage of a campervan is being able to park near, and sometimes even at, our playground, so we can head straight for the water as soon as the sun rises. Our daily routine went something like this: – Substantial and nutritious breakfast, before giving in to the call of the waves – Short coffee break. After physical effort, sustenance… while always keeping an eye on the outgoing tide – Surf session at sunset (the best time), …

Share
#vanlife godfather

Foster Huntington, the #vanlife godfather

Share

It’s the story of a guy who made a complete U turn in life. A guy who decided not to take the motorway, preferring to stick to the smaller tracks and roads. A group of blokes talk about it, a rare breed, and rarer still are those who do it well with annoying skill and success. The story of this guy is touching, like the setting of the sun over Oregon. Foster, a disillusioned dropout from a university in Maine, which he never really wanted to go to. He overcame his problems by releasing ‘A Restless Transplant’, a blog which was quickly spotted by Ralph Lauren who then offered him a job in New-York. Too much time spent behind a desk bored him to death, and inspired him to work on a personal project, The Burning House. This materialist-minimalist photo blog inspired by Wabi-sabiste (!) is drawing attention from a publisher who has offered to make a book out of it. Foster saved the advance payment and spent it immediately on a van (a VW Synchro), quit his job and hit the road, creating the famous #vanlife and released ‘Home Is Where You Park …

Share
Cotentin by François M.

The Golden Oldies are on the road again

Share

To properly celebrate our friend JC’s 70th birthday, we wanted to come up with something outside of the box. For a break from the usual parties of the previous decade, we opted to prepare a surprise at the house which was little different: his eight (self-proclaimed) best friends ‘wisely’ pulled up in a minibus, headed for the Cotentin Peninsula! We were able to set off all together (without having to take other friends just outside of our close circle) to relive the kind of adventures we had in our schooldays with all the jokes and songs (not the radio). Our trip was dotted judiciously with great meals, for which one person was condemned to be the designated driver (definitely the BEST friend). THE best friend Exploring Cotentin, this region of France which is so unjustly misunderstood, offered us a real sense of getting away from it all: the moors take you to Scotland, the prairies and cliffs to Ireland, its charming little ports to Cornwall and the massive beaches lined with sand dunes to California. Without forgetting the restaurants which keep you firmly in France. …

Share
First time

The spirit of the van – by Kiki B.

Share

What the van experience really boils down to is a return to a forgotten time, one which has been sidelined by our modern culture with its walls of all powerful tv screens, packed nightclubs and all of the superficial pleasures that come with it. We have been separated from the lost pleasures of looking at a star filled sky or connecting to nature. If the van experience is after all a return to these forgotten pleasures: then it is not just alpha or omega, it is both! It is the be all and end all. Travelling by van is all about reliving simple pleasures and stripping away phoney illusions. You turn the key and that’s it, you’re on your way. Because after all that’s really all there is to it, there’s no need to bother with taking the bus to an airport, checking in just to take another bus which takes you to a plane which in turn does endless laps on the tarmac before you finally take off. The van experience bypasses this needless hassle by returning to the true, ultimate meaning of …

Share
Gold of Bengal

Nomad of the Seas, or the low-tech adventure.

Share

The Nomad of the Sea project has its origins in plant-life, where all is well and good. 2009. Corentin de Chatelperron works in Bangladesh at a naval construction site and like all good engineers, is constantly thinking. The material which it seems simply has to be used in the construction of boats, fibreglass, is the root of the problem. Corentin dreams of replacing this imported, expensive, polluting composite material with jute fibre. Jute (Corchorus capsularis), a local, abundant foodstuff, possesses stunning technological characteristics. Applied science requires Corentin to make his theoretical reflections into a practical reality and he did this by building the first boat made of both fibre and jute fibre. Applied science? He returned to France from Bangladesh on this little sailing boat all alone, on a journey lasting 186 days over 9,000 miles (16,700 km). “The adventure of Tara Tari” helped him earn the credibility and fame to found Gold of Bengal. This research and development project focussed on jute led to the creation of a second boat in 2013 made from 100% agrocomposite materials reinforced with natural jute fibres. During these different nomadic …

Share
bocaux

What’s with the jars?

Share

So you’re getting ready for a van journey. It’s all about the logistics, just like setting sail. You would never set sail without taking supplies and likewise you would never hit the road without provisioning! Good, with that settled… what are we going to bring? We’re not on a racing boat, we don’t need to shorten our toothbrushes just to lighten the load: we can afford to bring heavier stuff. And if we start running out of space, we can leave some things behind (like clothes, there are always too many clothes): because good grub is vital, or rather, a question of survival. Take, for example, a nice walk in the humid English countryside. You might find yourself unable to reach a local restaurant. Your only salvation is the food that you have brought with you. And even if we’re not talking about haute cuisine or gastronomy, we’re still talking about ‘good nosh’ all the same! And exhausted, what could be better than hearing a nice dish simmering away just as you settle down for the evening with a drink, while the sun sets behind the mountains …

Share

The Way of the World, Nicolas Bouvier

Share

The Way of the World is story of a journey, of itinerant forays in a Fiat 500 Topolino, taking place in the mid-20th century between Yugoslavia and Afghanistan. The story centres around the author and his painter friend Thierry Vernet. It’s a tale of a maiden voyage, a story of youth – Nicolas Bouvier is only 25 years old – but which stunningly combines poetic aspects with intellectual reflections, embedded in a harsh reality, like the greatest stories of this genre. ‘Being deprived of necessities stimulated, to a certain extent, an appetite for what was essential’. ‘The virtue of travelling is that it purges life before filling it up’. ‘It had to be a flourishing civilisation to speak about women in that tone of mystery. With its tanned daughters, its fresh starched linin, its cows out to pasture and the neighbouring gypsies as leaven in the dough, peasant-Bogojevo had plenty to be pleased about’. ‘In the time it took to smoke a few cigarettes, they made their strings sob for the simple pleasure of turning one’s soul upside down’. ‘They …

Share

Year: 2015

Rémi Berchet

Rémi Berchet, concerto pour freerider

Partager

Loin d’ici il y a longtemps de cela, mon prof de musique au collège avait un catogan filasse (je n’ai rien contre les catogans), le teint cireux (ni contre les teints cireux, d’ailleurs) et une psychorigidité maladive concernant la mesure parfaite à la flûte à bec (là, par contre…). Mais c’était loin d’ici il y a longtemps de cela. Bref, rien à voir avec ce que doivent percevoir les collégiens de Bourg Saint Maurice (Savoie) en voyant leur professeur de musique, Rémi Berchet, franchir le seuil de sa classe. Car Rémi est un soliste montagnard, qui vit au plus proche des ses passions, entre ski alpin l’hiver et course à pied l’été. En août dernier Rémi était ainsi sur la ligne de départ de la splendide course TDS (Traces des Ducs de Savoie) qui s’étale sur 119 km de de sentiers de Grande Randonnée du pays du Mont Blanc. Il abattra ainsi cette année les 7 250m de dénivelé positif en 15h13’40, pour terminer au pied du podium ! Mais l’heure est déjà à la saison hivernale, histoire pour …

Partager
Scotland by Zeppelin

Hebrides Express – par Jeanne T. & MPQ.

Partager

  Cinq jours. C’est tout ce que l’on a. Pour un aller-retour sur l’île de Mull c’est largement suffisant. Sur ces même routes il y a 8 ans, avec un ami, nous effectuions notre défloraison écossaise à bord d‘un van. Les raisons pour reprendre la route cette année sont nombreuses et sympathiques ! Un reportage avec les Zeppelins, et surtout célébrer le 10 ème anniversaire de la découverte d’un petit coin de paradis écossais. De retour 10 ans plus tard sur les one-track roads, c’est au tour de Jeanne de nous livrer récit et images. MPQ.   On a renoncé au Bal des pompiers pour une chevauchée fantastique à travers l’Angleterre et l’Ecosse. Paris-Calais-Douvres- Liverpool- Corran- Lochaline – Mull Island. MPQ. récupère l’Esquisse (le van aménagé par We Van) à Nantes et me rejoint à Paris. En prévision des 20 heures de route qui nous attendent, on va puiser un peu d’énergie au concert que donne le groupe folk June Bug chez un disquaire de Barbès. M. a prévu un timing serré. Aux alentours de Glasgow, nous avons rendez-vous …

Partager
Race

Se la couler douce en Transat

Partager

Le transat est un acquis social historique. Remercions Léon B. et son Front P. qui en 1936 eurent le bon goût d’instaurer les congés payés, et, par la même occasion, la mode du transat. Sur les plages, de solides toiles de couleurs tendues sur leurs châssis en bois inclinables remplacent alors les chaises en rotin d’antan. Mais si le transat est acquis social il est également apocope. Il nait ainsi d’une modification phonétique de “transatlantique”, et de l’utilisation première de ce type de siège sur les paquebots transatlantiques. Car ne nous méprenons pas, c’est bien de cela dont il s’agit : la traversée de l’Atlantique en solitaire d’Armand de Jacquelot en Mini 6,50, plus petit voilier de course au large au monde. Et la solide toile de couleur tendue devient grand spi bleu. Abracadabra. Armand, skipper du n°755 We-Van, est ainsi samedi 19 septembre 2015 sur la ligne de départ de la célèbre Minitransat qui relie Douarnenez à Pointe- à-Pitre. Lui qui continue de dessiner des bateaux comme quand il était enfant – c’est son métier – s’apprête donc à vivre son rêve de gosse : traverser l’atlantique sur un canot à peine plus grand que …

Partager
We-Van by Kampes Nomads

La vie en camper-van : destination surf – par Kampes Nomads

Partager

Nous avons testé un Camper-van de l’agence We-Van pour profiter des célèbres spots de surf du Pays Basque dans le Sud-ouest de la France. Nous avons choisi « l’Esquisse », un Camper van 2 places, aménagé sur un châssis Volkswagen, pour un voyage itinérant mêlant sobriété, efficacité et confort. Louer ce Camper-van pour réaliser notre Surf trip fût clairement la meilleure option. Quand surfer fait partie intégrante de ton quotidien, suivre les prévisions météorologiques et « chasser » les vagues deviennent tes priorités. Pour cela, le mieux est d’être mobile et de se rendre directement sur place, ce qui signifie rouler de longues distances parfois avant de trouver le spot parfait. L’avantage avec un Camper-van, est de pouvoir se garer à proximité et même parfois face à notre terrain de jeu, pour se jeter à l’eau dès les premières lueurs matinales. Notre programme quotidien était à base de : – Copieux petit-déjeuner vitaminé, avant de succomber à l’appel des vagues, – Petite pause café, après l’effort, le réconfort…toujours en gardant un oeil sur la marée descendante, – Session de surf au coucher du soleil (la meilleure), avant de …

Partager
#vanlife godfather

Foster Huntington, the #vanlife godfather

Partager

C’est l’histoire d’un mec qui a décidé de donner un coup de volant dans sa vie. Un mec qui a choisi de ne pas s’embarquer sur l’autoroute, pour lui préférer les jolies petites routes. Un paquet de mecs en parle, rares sont ceux qui le font, et encore plus ceux qui le font bien et le partagent avec un talent et succès énervant. L’histoire de ce mec est jolie et rose comme un coucher de soleil sur les confins de l’Oregon. Foster s’emmerde sec dans une fac paumée du Maine dans laquelle il est arrivé sans trop le vouloir. Il trompe son emmerdement en sortant A Restless Transplant, un blog vite repéré par un designer de Ralph Lauren qui lui propose un job à New-York. Trop de temps passé derrière un bureau achève de l’emmerder, et l’incite à travailler sur un projet personnel, The Burning House.  Ce blog photo matérialo-minimaliste d’inspiration Wabi-sabiste (!) est à son tour rapidement repéré par une maison d’édition qui lui propose d’en tirer un livre. Foster encaisse l’avance de pognon et la décaisse aussitôt pour s’acheter un van (VW Synchro), …

Partager
Cotentin by François M.

Les anciens frappent (encore) la route – par François M.

Partager

Pour dignement fêter les 70 ans de notre ami JC, il nous fallait trouver une idée qui sorte des sentiers battus. Pour rompre avec la traditionnelle fiesta de la décennie, nous avons préféré lui concocter une petite surprise façon maison : ses 8 meilleurs copains (auto-proclamés) « sagement » assis à bord d’un minibus en partance imminente pour la pointe du Cotentin ! Nous avons ainsi pu partir tous ensemble (sans les moins bon meilleurs copains) et vivre une aventure de potaches avec rires et chansons (pas la radio)… Notre route a été judicieusement jalonnée de sacrées bonnes bouffes, pour lesquelles seul un chauffeur était condamné à l’abstinence alcoolistique (a coup sûr LE meilleur ami). La découverte du Cotentin, cette région de France si injustement méconnue nous a offert un dépaysement extraordinaire : ses landes qui vous conduisent en Ecosse, ses prairies et ses falaises en Irlande, ses charmants petits ports dans les Cornouailles britanniques et ses immenses plages bordées de dunes en Californie… Sans oublier ses restaurants qui vous ramènent en France. Le soir, …

Partager
First time

Humeur de Van – par Kiki B.

Partager

Et si le voyage en Van n’était finalement qu’un retour a une réalité oubliée. Une réalité estompée par notre société moderne et ses murs d’écrans omnipotents, ses night-clubs bondés et tous ses plaisirs futiles nous éloignant de jouissances perdues comme regarder un ciel étoilé ou se laisser tomber dans une pleine nature. Et si finalement, le voyage en Van n’était qu’un retour a ces jouissances oubliées : pas seulement l’alpha ou l’oméga du voyage, mais bien l’alpha ET l’oméga ! Voyager en Van c’est revenir au plaisir simple et dépouillé de tout subterfuge bidon: tu tournes la clé et ça y est, tu voyages. Parce que finalement c’est ça le voyage en Van, on arrête de s’emmerder a prendre le bus pour aller a l’aéroport, faire un check in pour prendre un autre bus qui va t’amener dans l’avion, qui prendra à son tour route sur l’asphalte pour finalement t’envoyer en l’air. Le voyage en Van s’est court-circuiter cette débauche de transport pour revenir a Un, l’ultime, le vrai. Qui n’a jamais rêvé d’être un escargot, de pouvoir transporter sa maison. Mon véhicule est mon chez …

Partager
Gold of Bengal

Nomade des Mers, ou l’aventure des low-tech

Partager

Le projet Nomade des Mers tire ses racines dans le végétal. Des racines de végétal, jusque là tout va bien. 2009. Corentin de Chatelperron travaille au Bangladesh dans un chantier naval, et, comme tout bon ingénieur digne de ce nom, réfléchit. La fibre de verre, matériau “incontournable” de la construction de bateaux, ne nourrirait-elle pas les racines du mal? Corentin songe a remplacer ce composite importé, cher et polluant par de la fibre de jute. Le jute (Corchorus capsularis L.), denrée locale et abondante, possède en effet des caractéristiques techniques étonnantes. Sciences appliquées oblige, Corentin doit transposer ses réflexions théoriques à la pratique, et construit le premier bateau associant fibres de verre et de jute (60/40). Sciences appliquées? Il rejoint en solitaire la France depuis le Bangladesh sur ce petit voilier, lors d’une petite balade de 186 jours et 9 000 milles (16 700 km kilomètres). “L’aventure de Tara Tari” lui permet de gagner en crédibilité et notoriété pour fonder Gold of Bengal. De ce projet de R&D autour du jute nait en 2013 un second bateau 100% composé d’agrocomposite renforcé en fibres naturelles de jute. …

Partager
bocaux

Le pourquoi du bocal

Partager

Un voyage en van ça se prépare. C’est de la logistique. Comme un départ en bateau. Vous ne partiriez pas en mer sans vivres, et bien là c’est pareil vous ne partez pas sur la route sans avitaillement! Bon, ce constat fait… que charge-t-on? Alors on n’est pas sur un bateau de course, à couper les manches de nos brosses à dents pour s’alléger : on a de quoi charger du lourd! Et si on manque de place, on largue du lest (des fringues, on a toujours trop de fringues) : parce que  la boustifaille c’est vitale. Une question de survie. Si par exemple vous randonnez dans la belle mais humide campagne anglo-saxone , et que vous ne pouvez donc dignement pas vous tourner vers un restaurant local (sanglier bouilli oblige), alors votre salut tient de votre cuisine embarquée. Et si on ne parle pas Haute-Cuisine, ou Gastronomie, on cause “bonne bouffe” tout de même! Et, fourbu mais heureux, quoi de plus réjouissant qu’entendre mijoter un bon plat en sauce à l’heure de l’apéro, pendant que le soleil se couche derrière les montagnes (ou …

Partager
L'usage du monde

L’usage du monde, Nicolas Bouvier

Partager

L’Usage du monde est récit de la route, un récit de flâneries itinérantes en Fiat 500 Topolino, vécues au milieu du siècle dernier entre Yougoslavie et Afghanistan par l’auteur et son ami peintre Thierry Vernet . C’est également un récit de voyage initiatique, un récit de jeunesse – Nicolas Bouvier n’a que 25 ans – mais qui marie étonnamment envolées poétiques, réflexions intellectuelles et vie réelle “sur le dur”, à l’instar des plus grands récits du genre. “Être privé du nécessaire stimule, dans certaines limites, l’appétit de l’essentiel.” “La vertu d’un voyage, c’est de purger la vie avant de la garnir.” “Il faut vraiment qu’une civilisation campagnarde soit dans sa fleur pour qu’on vous y parle des femmes avec ce ton de mystère. Avec ses filles halées, son linge frais empesé, ses chevaux au pâturage et le voisinage des Tziganes pour servir de levain à cette pâte, Bogoiévo-des-Paysans avait bien de quoi être heureux.” “Le temps de quelques cigarettes, ils allaient faire gémir leurs cordes pour le simple plaisir de se mettre l’âme à l’envers.” “Ils écoutaient les …

Partager